Coca-Cola Company 
Joana

GIGANTIC XXL HIGH-BAY WAREHOUSE

Kocher Regalbau has constructed a high-bay warehouse in silo construction method for Coca-Cola right in the middle of a seismic area in Romania.
The central warehouse has capacity for 34.848 loaded pool palettes with 800 mm x 1200 mm each.

Rack type

Palette warehouse

Length

98
m

Width

80
m

Height

27
m

Capacity

34848
pool palettes

THE CUSTOMER

“The Coca-Cola Company” (TCCC) is the world’s largest supplier of non-alcoholic beverages. The corporation sells more than 500 beverage brands in over 200 countries around the world. These include not only the world-famous Coca-Cola, but also fruit juices, water and ready-to-drink tea and coffee. The production and bottling take place on site, in the respective production plants.

THE PROJECT

Early 2009 the Coca-Cola Hellenic Bottling Company planned to build a massive high-bay warehouse to load finished bottles and cans. The Coca-Cola plant is based in Ploiesti at the southern foot of the Carpathians, about 60 kilometres north of the capital Bucharest. The dimensions of the central warehouse were impressive: the prerequisite was 34.848 pool palettes with a base area of 800 mm x 1200 mm and a palette weight of up to one tonne.

THE IMPLEMENTATION

In addition to FKI Logistex, Kocher Regalbau relied for this major project on the proven silo construction method of the cold and hot profiles with galvanized surface. Kocher had already built a high-bay system for Coca-Cola in England in 2006 which provided 25.200 palette bays.

SPECIAL CHALLENGE

The special feature of this steel construction was not just the gigantic size of the beverage warehouse. Also relevant for the design of the high-bay silo was that the envisaged drinks warehouse was situated in seismic area. A clear challenge for the specialists at Kocher Regalbau, but no impossibility. It took about 20 weeks to construct the high-bay silo’s 2.300 tonnes of steel. Despite the bad weather conditions and the earthquake hazard, the schedule was successfully maintained.

Coca-Cola Company 
Joana

GIGANTISCHES XXL HOCHREGALLAGER

Mitten in einem Erdbebengebiet in Rumänien errichtete Kocher Regalbau für Coca-Cola ein gigantisches Hochregallager in Silobauweise.
Das Zentrallager fasst 34.848 beladene Poolpaletten mit je 800 mm x 1200 mm.

Regal-Typ

Palettenlager

Länge

98
m

Breite

80
m

Höhe

27
m

Fassungsvermögen

34848
Poolpaletten

DER AUFTRAGGEBER

„The Coca-Cola Company“ (TCCC) ist der weltweit größte Anbieter und Marktführer von alkoholfreien Getränken. Das Unternehmen verkauft mehr als 500 Getränkemarken in über 200 Ländern der Welt. Dazu zählen nicht nur das weltberühmte Coca-Cola, sondern auch Fruchtsaftgetränke, Wasser, sowie trinkfertiger Tee und Kaffee. Die Produktion und Abfüllung der Getränke erfolgen immer vor Ort, in den jeweiligen Produktionsbetrieben.

DAS PROJEKT

Anfang 2009 plante die Coca-Cola Hellenic Bottling Company den Bau eines gewaltigen Hochregallagers zur Beladung von fertigproduzierten Flaschen und Dosen für den Sitz der Coca-Cola in Ploiesti am südlichen Fuß der Karpaten, ungefähr 60 Kilometer nördlich der Hauptstadt Bukarest. Die Dimension des Zentrallagers war beeindruckend: Voraussetzung waren 34.848 Poolpaletten mit einer Grundfläche von 800 mm x 1200 mm und einem Palettengewicht von bis zu einer Tonne.

DIE UMSETZUNG

Neben FKI Logistex, setzte Kocher Regalbau bei diesem Großprojekt auf die bewährte Silobauweise der Kalt-Warmprofile mit verzinkter Oberfläche. Diese Bauweise wurde bereits 2006 für ein Coca-Cola Hochregalsilo in England mit etwa 25.200 Palettenplätzen durchgeführt.

BESONDERE HERAUSFORDERUNG

Die Herausforderung dieses Stahlbaus lag nicht nur in der gewaltigen Größe des Getränkelagers. Die Auslegung des Hochregal-Silos ist ein Gebiet, in dem mit starken Erdbeben zu rechnen ist. Für die Kocher Regalbau-Spezialisten eine klare Herausforderung, jedoch keine Unmöglichkeit. Rund 20 Wochen dauerte es, bis alle 2.300 Tonnen Stahl im Hochregal-Silo verbaut waren. Trotz der schlechten Wetterbedingungen und der Erdbebengefahr wurde der Zeitplan erfolgreich eingehalten.