Häfele GmbH & Co. KG 
Joana

HIGH-BAY SILO

This was the third time that Kocher Regalbau was building a high-bay warehouse for Häfele – the international fittings and hardware specialist from Nagold. The warehouse of Häfele GmbH & Co. KG provides space for 9.195 Euro palettes and has eight aisles.

Rack type

Palette warehouse

Length

74
m

Width

30
m

Capacity

9195
pool palettes

THE CUSTOMER

Häfele GmbH & Co. KG is one of the market leaders in the furniture and building fittings industry and serves more than 160.000 customers in over 150 countries around the world. The fittings specialist offers a range of over 50.000 products. Häfele is known for its fast delivery and shipping reliability. Stock items are shipped within 24 hours.

THE PROJECT

Kocher Regalbau has already built two high-bay warehouses for Häfele GmbH & Co. KG in the past in order to make the high deliverability possible. With an area of 15 football fields the dispatch centre in Nagold holds over 130.000 storage bins. As a result, up to 5.800 shipments can be processed every day.

THE IMPLEMENTATION

In order to maintain the fast delivery and shipping reliability, Häfele planned a third high-bay warehouse in silo construction method. Kocher Regalbau developed, supplied and assembled a steel construction with 9.195 pool palettes and more than 450 tonnes of hot and cold rolled profiles. 200.000 screws were installed. Due to the different sizes of the unit loads in the high-bay warehouse, depth supports and a push-through safety mechanism had to be assembled.In addition, Kocher Regalbau also took care of the roof and wall cladding of the high-bay silo. The roof directly above the eight aisles was given around six-meter-long and two-meter-wide openings through which the storage/retrieval equipment can be brought into the high-bay warehouse. At the special request of Häfele a two-meter-high window band was installed in the wall – along the entire width of the warehouse. These windows make sure the warehouse is provided with plenty of natural light. Kocher assembled the silo and completed the wall and roof covering on schedule within just ten weeks.

SPECIAL CHALLENGE

The special feature of the steel construction was the number of platforms. Three platforms have been built above one another in the front part of the warehouse — two for conveyor equipment and one at a height of around nine meters for visitors. Another platform for conveyor technology has been built at the back of the silo.Why so many conveyor lines? The warehouse, which is equipped with semi-automatic, rail-guided storage and retrieval machinery, works according to the “man-to-goods” order picking principle. This means that a large number of empty, partly loaded and full pallets have to be put into storage and retrieved again from the warehouse. Another special feature are the conveyor lines below all the single and double row racks which consequently form gantries up to around half the length of the warehouse.

Häfele GmbH & Co. KG 
Joana

SILO-HOCHREGALLAGER

Bereits zum dritten Mal errichtet Kocher Regalbau ein Hochregal-Silo für den internationalen Beschlag-Spezialisten aus Nagold.
Das Lager der Häfele GmbH & Co. KG bietet Platz für 9.195 Europaletten und verfügt über acht Gassen.

Regal-Typ

Palettenlager

Länge

74
m

Breite

30
m

Fassungsvermögen

9195
Poolpaletten

DER AUFTRAGGEBER

Die Häfele GmbH & Co. KG gehört zu den Marktführern für Möbel- und Baubeschläge und bedient weltweit über 160.000 Kunden in mehr als 150 Ländern. Das Sortiment des Beschlag-Spezialisten umfasst mehr als 50.000 Produkte. Häfele ist bekannt für seine schnelle Zustellung und Liefersicherheit. Lagerartikel werden innerhalb von 24 Stunden verschickt.

DAS PROJEKT

Um die hohe Lieferfähigkeit möglich zu machen, errichte Kocher Regalbau bereits in der Vergangenheit zwei Hochregale für die Häfele GmbH & Co. KG. Mit einer Fläche von 15 Fußballfeldern fasst das Versandzentrum in Nagold über 130.000 Lagerplätze. So können täglich bis zu 5.800 Sendungen bearbeitet werden.

DIE UMSETZUNG

Um die kurzen Lieferzeiten und die hohe Liefersicherheit weiter beizubehalten, plante Häfele ein drittes Hochregallager in Silobauweise. Kocher Regalbau entwickelte, lieferte und montierte einen Stahlbau mit 9.195 Poolpaletten und mehr als 450 Tonnen warm und kalt gewalzten Profilen. Es wurden 200.000 Schrauben verbaut. Durch die unterschiedlichen Größen der Ladeeinheiten im Hochregallager, mussten Tiefenauflagen und Durchschubsicherungen montiert werden.Zusätzlich kümmerte sich Kocher Regalbau auch um die Dach- und Wandverkleidung des Hochregal-Silos. Das Dach erhielt unmittelbar über den acht Gassen des Silos ca. sechs Meter lange und zwei Meter breite Aussparungen. Diese Öffnungen halfen später die Regalbediengeräte ins Hochregalsilo einzuführen. Auf besonderen Wunsch von Häfele wurde ein zwei Meter hohes Fensterband über die gesamte Breite des Lagers eingebaut. Die Fenster sorgen für ausgezeichnete Lichtverhältnisse. Nur zehn Wochen wurden benötigt, um die Montage des Silos mit Dach- und Wandverkleidung termingerecht abzuschließen.

BESONDERE HERAUSFORDERUNG

Die besondere Herausforderung der Stahlkonstruktion war die Anzahl der Bühnen. Im vorderen Lagerbereich wurden drei Bühnen übereinander angeordnet — zwei für die Fördertechnik und eine in rund neun Meter Höhe für Besucher. An der Rückseite des Silos befindet sich eine weitere Bühne, die Fördertechnik aufnimmt.Warum so viele Förderstrecken? In dem halbautomatischen, mit schienengeführten Regalbediengeräten ausgestatteten Lager wird nach dem Prinzip „Mann zur Ware“ kommissioniert. Folglich müssen sehr viele leere, teilbeladene und volle Paletten ein- und ausgelagert werden. Ebenfalls speziell sind die Förderstrecken unter allen Einfach- und Doppelregalzeilen, die darum bis etwa zur halben Lagerlänge als Portale ausgebildet sind.