Sanofi-Aventis 
Joana

AUTOMATED HIGH-BAY SILO

Kocher Regalbau built an automated warehouse for the pharmaceutical corporation Sanofi-Aventis.The warehouse is providing space for a total of 15.200 load units and is located in the Höchst Industrial Park in Frankfurt.

Rack type

Palette warehouse

Capacity

15200
load units on CP1 palettes

THE CUSTOMER

Sanofi-Aventis Deutschland GmbH, based in Frankfurt am Main, is one of the ten largest pharmaceutical companies worldwide and generated sales of around 5.4 billion euros in 2012. With state-of-the-art, innovative pharmaceuticals, established branded products, non-prescription OTC products as well as generics, Sanofi-Aventis has a significant amount of research and production in Germany.

THE PROJECT

Early 2007 the healthcare company planned a new plant at the southern end of the Höchst Industrial Park in Frankfurt with a total investment of 150 million euros.
The new plant was to produce so-called insulin pens for the global market. Part of the plant should be a large warehouse in the immediate vicinity of Sanofi-Aventis' medicines distribution centre. Kocher Regalbau GmbH was commissioned to design and implement the unusually high steel racking in silo construction.

THE IMPLEMENTATION

BWhen implementing the high-bay silo, it was necessary to work with different room temperatures. In four of the high-bay warehouse aisles the goods are stored at room temperature, while in the fifth aisle a room cooling was installed. In each rack compartment two palettes with a maximum load of 800 kg were implemented. This resulted a lengthwise axial pitch of 3.070 mm. Automatic storage / retrieval systems were installed for loading and unloading the load units.

SPECIAL CHALLENGE

For the storage of the so-called insulin pens, which are filled with insulin solutions, special circumstances had to be considered during the design. The insulin pens are extremely sensitive in their production and storage. The valuable product setting has influenced the design of the warehouse which accommodates components, packaging material, part finished goods and finished goods on CP1 palettes.

Sanofi-Aventis 
Joana

HOCHREGAL-SILO

Für das Pharmaunternehmen Sanofi-Aventis erbaute Kocher Regalbau ein automatisches Silo-Lager
mit Platz für insgesamt 15.200 Ladeeinheiten im Frankfurter Industriepark Höchst.

Regal-Typ

Palettenlager

Fassungsvermögen

15200
Ladeeinheiten auf CP1 Paletten

DER AUFTRAGGEBER

Die Sanofi-Aventis Deutschland GmbH mit Sitz in Frankfurt am Main ist eines der zehn größten Pharmaunternehmen weltweit und erwirtschaftete im Jahr 2012 einen Umsatz von rund 5,4 Milliarden Euro. Mit modernsten, innovativen Arzneimitteln, etablierten Originalpräparaten, nicht verschreibungspflichtigen OTC-Produkten sowie Generika, besitzt Sanofi-Aventis in Deutschland einen bedeutenden Umfang an Forschung und Produktion.

DAS PROJEKT

Anfang 2007 plante das Gesundheitsunternehmen mit einer Investitionssumme von insgesamt 150 Mio. Euro ein neues Werk im Süden des Frankfurter Industrieparks Höchst. Im neuen Werk sollten sogenannte Insulin-Pens für den weltweiten Markt gefertigt werden.
Bestandteil des Werkes sollte ein großes Lager in unmittelbarer Nachbarschaft des Arzneimittel-Distributionszentrums von Sanofi-Aventis sein. Für die Konstruktion und Realisierung des ungewöhnlich hohen Stahlregals in Silo-Bauweise wurde Kocher Regalbau beauftragt.

DIE UMSETZUNG

Bei der Umsetzung des Hochregal-Silos musste mit unterschiedlichen Raumtemperaturen gearbeitet werden. In vier Gassen des Hochregals wurden Güter bei Raumtemperatur eingebaut, während in der fünften Gasse eine Raumkühlung installiert wurde. In jedem Lagerfach wurden zwei Paletten mit einer Maximallast von 800 kg eingeführt. Daraus entstand eine Achsteilung in Längsrichtung von 3070 mm. Zum Ein- und Auslagern der Ladeeinheiten wurden automatische Regalbediengeräte eingebaut.

BESONDERE HERAUSFORDERUNG

Für die Lagerung der sogenannten Insulin-Pens, die mit Insulin-Lösungen gefüllt sind, mussten besondere Umstände in der Konstruktion beachtet werden. Die Insulin-Pens sind in ihrer Produktion und Lagerung äußerst sensibel. Für das wertvolle Produktumfeld wurde mit speziellen CP1-Paletten gearbeitet, die Komponenten, Packmittel, teilgefertigte Ware und Fertigware unterbringen.